Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie Question: Building a Portfolio and Reputation

Highlighted
Tres P Member Since: Aug 24, 2016
1 of 8

Hey Everyone,

I recently joined UpWork after the SaaS company I was working for was acquired. In my last few positions, not only did I write much of the sales copy, but I also wrote quite a bit of content for our marketing team. 

I suppose my question is two-fold:

1) I'm new to Freelance, so I'm not clear on the "rules" of my portfolio. I've done a number of projects outside of UpWork, I don't have any bylines nor do I have client's permission to utilize them. I posted a few small projects to Medium and linked my portfolio to them, but should I be offering more? 

2) I've been silent stalking the forums and understand the importance of establishing myself in a niche. That said, in conjunction with my portfolio issues, I don't have job history. Should I be responding to RFPs for lower level "rewrite" or content-gen/blog postings or will this bite me in the ass somehow? 

Turns out this might have been better of as two separate posts...oops!! Thanks in advance for everyone's help!

Cheers,

Tres

Highlighted
Community Guru
Virginia F Member Since: Feb 15, 2016
2 of 8

You should change English to "fluent".

Highlighted
BEST ANSWER
3 of 8

Why fluent not native?

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Community Guru
Nichola L Member Since: Mar 13, 2015
4 of 8

Tres, your overview is much, much too wordy. You don't need to tell anybody why you switched from one thing to another.