🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Newbie questions
Page options
ikitipova
Community Member

Newbie questions

Hello, 

I am very new to Upwork, and I find the system a bit confusing. I got a job on Monday on an hourly contract and the job was filled for exactly one hour. As I understand, I have to wait until Friday for the client to approve and the money to be added to my profile, as well as their review.

I do not get either. I get that I cannot get paid/withdraw anything until I get to a certain amount. But how can I ever know that the client has paid anything? My earnings stay at $0.00, isn't this supposed to be updated? 
As a freelancer elsewhere, I am used to only send half the work until I don't get paid. On Upwork how am I supposed to be sure that the client will pay me and how can I check if any money have been transferred to my earnings? There is also no client review, so I am starting to think I might not have ended the process properly...
Please, point me to a comprehensive guide where I can see what should be done when I do a contract, when is the amount in my profile, what to do if I don't get any earnings (how long should I wait) and how should I build a reputation, if my clients won't leave a review?

Thanks!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
petra_r
Community Member

Iva K wrote:

I am very new to Upwork, and I find the system a bit confusing. I got a job on Monday on an hourly contract and the job was filled for exactly one hour. As I understand, I have to wait until Friday for the client to approve and the money to be added to my profile, as well as their review.

That's not how it works at all. First of all, go to Reports Home Page 

Explore all the little question marks, which explain what all the stages mean.

Then click on the link When will I get paid 

Choose Get paid for hourly contracts 

You'll find the money under "Work in Progress" because the work week has not ended, provided you tracked or logged the time correctly.

Iva K wrote: