epetipit

Newbie questions

Hi Upwork Community! 

I'm now more than a month working as a freelancer. I'm still considered as a newbie, if I'm not mistaken, right?

So as a newbie I have some sort of questions that I believe some of you can relate with as you have been once a newbie like me. With your experiences, I'm quite sure you can shed some light on my fluttering thoughts and curiosities. Below are some of the questions I have as for this moment.

1. Can I use an unverified Paypal account to withdraw my earnings without Paypal holding my money? Also, do you have any idea whether Paypal account requires minimum received amount of money for me to be able to use my money (e.g. to shop online)?

2. I wish to hear advice from you also whether it would be great if I look now for other jobs despite having an existing contract of 6 h a day 'til Sept. 2, 2016. I'm still hoping though that my contract would be extended.

3. Regarding rate increase, would it be okay that if before I request for a rate increase, I can ask first my client what criteria can be considered to grant my request?

4. Would my earnings be still available despite my contract ends?

5. Lastly, have you ever experienced asking your clients whether you can ask them personal questions? If yes, would it be okay to know if it goes pretty well?

I'd love to hear from you. Thank you in advance. 

12 REPLIES 12

@Eunice P wrote:

Hi Upwork Community! 

I'm now more than a month working as a freelancer. I'm still considered as a newbie, if I'm not mistaken, right?

So as a newbie I have some sort of questions that I believe some of you can relate with as you have been once a newbie like me. With your experiences, I'm quite sure you can shed some light on my fluttering thoughts and curiosities. Below are some of the questions I have as for this moment.