🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Newish to Upwork and would love to get a prof...
Page options
speironnet
Community Member

Newish to Upwork and would love to get a profile review

Hi guys I'm newish to upwork(I've had an account for about a year but only recently started actively looking for jobs). I ended up picking up a few clients in February out of nowhere, but since then I've been hard pressed to get even an interview. I think I might just be going about this wrong, so I'd love some input on my profile and my cover letter. I cant tell if it's too wordy or maybe too formal? In all honesty I'm just a collgege student paying tuition and I don't have enough real-world experience in this area.

My typical cover letter usually looks simialr to this:

"

Good afternoon [Client's Name],

I'm Simone Peironnet. I have 5 years of classical art and graphic design experience so I can provide you with totally unique and original designs. From children's books to icons to infographics, I'm well versed in communication with a target audience. Besides my qualifications, I'm just passionate about design. I often do local work pro bono for nonprofits just for the sake of designing something new and exciting. I love a challenge. I'm well versed in pretty much every Adobe product, including Photoshop and Illustrator.

I hugely enjoy working with packaging design because of the endless possibilities it presents due to its versatility, and to this day most of my favourite past projects have been packaging-based. It's one of the most interesting areas of design because it allows for one of the highest level of user engagement possible in marketing, and usually generates a higher amount of brand loyalty the stronger the branding is for that packaging. I also have 3 years of experience working on the printing end of graphic design, which allows me to format templates correctly and quickly in order to have the most efficient job possible.