🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » No Invites. No Hires. What's Wrong?
Page options
jpabloyn
Community Member

No Invites. No Hires. What's Wrong?

I've been on Upwork for about two years now, and lately I haven't been getting any invites, nor have I been hired.

It's quite ironic, since I used to get invites almost daily when I was just starting out. Today I'm a Top Rated freelancer with a 99% JSS score, a much better profile than two years ago and not a single negative review, yet I'm not able to get interviewed/hired. It happened all of a sudden, from one day to the other I stopped receiving invites and getting hired.

Has anyone experienced anything similar?

8 REPLIES 8
leeannmerrill
Community Member

When did it start?  Same thing happened to be starting about two weeks ago.  Is this somehow connected to coronavirus freakout?

Is this somehow connected to coronavirus freakout?

Not at all.  I received 2 invitations yesterday.  Both were asking for skills not in my wheelhouse.  

robin_hyman
Community Member

Juan Pablo Y wrote:

I've been on Upwork for about two years now, and lately I haven't been getting any invites, nor have I been hired.

It's quite ironic, since I used to get invites almost daily when I was just starting out. Today I'm a Top Rated freelancer with a 99% JSS score, a much better profile than two years ago and not a single negative review, yet I'm not able to get interviewed/hired. It happened all of a sudden, from one day to the other I stopped receiving invites and getting hired.

Has anyone experienced anything similar?

I've also been on the platform for about 2 years.  I stopped relying on invitations a year ago.  They are usually not aligned with what I do.  Instead, apply to jobs.  Be picky about how you spend your connects.  Spend time crafting a proposal that stands out among the competition.  Keep trying.