🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » No longer want to work with a client?
Page options
14c5ed40
Community Member

No longer want to work with a client?

Hi all,

This may be common knowledge here but I'm new to Upwork and need help.

Basically, I have a client with a fixed-price rate who has been rude to me and is not happy with any sort of work I provide and keeps asking for more and more. I have over-worked for him and done way more than I should, and everytime he keeps asking for more creativity and more templates and whatnot...at this point, I dont care about the money and I just want to be done with him without affecting my feedback if thats possible? I dont see this going anywhere and honestly my dignitiy comes before money. FYI I just joined Upwork this month and have had a bunch of clients already, all with good experiences and happy with the work I provide.

4 REPLIES 4
prestonhunter
Community Member

If you don't want to work with a client any longer, then you don't have to.

The Upwork user interface allows freelancers to close a contract at any time.

If you close a contract without receiving any payment at all, then it is a zero-pay contract, and that is likely to have a negative impact on JSS.

But this is sometimes the best choice for a freelancer.

Preston H wrote:

If you don't want to work with a client any longer, then you don't have to.

The Upwork user interface allows freelancers to close a contract at any time.

If you close a contract without receiving any payment at all, then it is a zero-pay contract, and that is likely to have a negative impact on JSS.

But this is sometimes the best choice for a freelancer.

I'd even argue that it's always the best choice.

We are not afraid of the clients, we are not JSS hostages.

re: "I have a client with a fixed-price rate who... is not happy with any sort of work I provide and keeps asking for more and more"

Yazan:
You DO NOT know this.

You do NOT know if the client is "not happy" with your work.