My account was hacked recently. Since then, I have not heard from any of the clients that I previously did work for.
I think that one of the reasons for that is, that Upwork sent this message to each client with whom I had an active job:
*** Edited for Community Guidelines *** does not currently have access to Upwork and will not receive messages until access is restored. That message is still posted on each job board, unfortunately.