🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Nobody replies to my job applications
Page options
zlatagolaboska
Community Member

Nobody replies to my job applications

I have been on the platform actively from 2018. I have never experienced such a "dry" period. I have been applying for jobs for two months now- custom cover letters to a jobs I can actually excel, but seems like noone os responding. Out of ~50proposals I got only one declined, everything else is either "job is closed" either pending status. How can I be sure that my proposals are actually reaching the potential client?

17 REPLIES 17
celgins
Community Member

Zlata,

Many (if not most) freelancers have noticed a significant drop in hires and invitations over the past 6-months to 1-year, and especially over the last 2-3 months. I believe some of this is due to the number of freelancers that flooded Upwork and similar sites during the pandemic. A lot of people began working from home during the pandemic and many never returned to their traditional employer-employee jobs.

In addition to that, there have been corporate adjustments (i.e. financial, marketing, strategy, etc.) and system adjustments (i.e., technical, platform, etc.) by Upwork, and I believe this is a huge factor. Plus, the evolution of generative AI content (i.e., ChatGPT) is part of the mix as well.

There is a lot of competition on Upwork, so receiving invites is a challenge and getting hired can be an even bigger challenge. I have experienced it too.

Continue to submit proposals to jobs for which you are qualified. You will eventually win some!

My slight protest or wondering is pointed mainly to the part where we are paying to apply, but we don't receive any notification about it. Even if the hiring side decide never to reply, at least I have right to know if they opened my message, no? 
And invitations, oh! So rare!

Zlata G wrote:

to know if they opened my message...