🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Offer outside of Upwork
Page options
hkemper4
Community Member

Offer outside of Upwork

I am new to Upwork and had a Skype interview and answered written questions. A few hours later, through Skype they said they wanted to offer me the position and to look for an offer letter in my email. It basically said you will be hired as an employee and make this much $... on each assignment...sign here. I told them I didn't see a contract in my contract tab on Upwork, just my email. They said that the "opt out" fee has been paid to Upwork and that Upwork is just a means to secure a freelancer and the post is removed after the freelancer has been shortlisted. I told him that I will sign the contract if it was sent to me through Upwork. He basically said they wont do that and that I would work on the company archive and login there for the materials needed. I know nothing about his company. He said he will send me more information once I sign the contract and I'm employed with them. I looked up the company name on Google and it is a tobacco company that says it's currently closed. It's my first time doing this so I have no idea if it's legit or not.  Any help or advice is appreciated.  Thanks!

6 REPLIES 6
mtngigi
Community Member

Heather K wrote: