🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » One Emotional Rating from a Small Contract Ma...
Page options
lnghng
Community Member

One Emotional Rating from a Small Contract Made My JSS Dropped from 100% to 86%

I was a top-rated plus developer with over 100k earned and 2500+ Upwork hours. I did so well, I even received a $12k bonus from one of my happy clients. My JS score was 100%. But recently I had done a 1k fixed-price project which required to provide the documentation for the technical design of integration of a third-party API into a Shopify store. Close the work to be done, my client asked me to write the real code for them. I told the client I must get paid for the additional work to build the Shopify App. The client didn't say one word of complain on the design work I submitted to them, but since I refused to do the additional work, my client was not happy. Soon after the contract was closed, my JSS score dropped from 100% to 92%. Two weeks later it dropped further to 86%. I lost Top-rated plus status.

The $1k is a very tiny portion of my past six months of earnings. No matter how much a freelancer has achieved in the past, one emotional client can totally destroy the freelancer’s Upwork career he/she built for months or even years.

I posted the topic yesterday night, received one response, but I couldn't find it now. Got deleted? 

Anyway, the person who kindly replied to me mentioned that a top-rated contractor had two weeks to delete a bad rating. But it requires I have at least 10 contracts! This is another issue I am facing. My past clients kept on giving me tasks. They liked my work, and I have trouble leaving a contract. When I left my first client, he didn't want to close it. Seven month later, he went back to give me a bad rating despite I had received numerous praises from the company. I lost my top-rated status. It took me 4-5 months back to the top-rated status.