🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » One tip for freelancers
Page options
mcpilot
Community Member

One tip for freelancers

Hi everyone, 

I work both as a freelancer and a client.  As a freelancer, I am always busy and I have never, mind you *never* pinged an existing or former client to see if they have more work for me. 

However, as a client, I am bombarded with requests from freelancers I have hired for more work. It's not unusual for me to get pinged by some nearly daily "any new tasks for me?" and sometimes I am fending off multiple requests a day. 

If you're a freelancer and want to be successful, do not do this. I will always go back to freelancers who've done a good job for me, but as a client, I can't make tasks appear out of thin air. They come up when they come up. 

I will often provide an increasingly stern admonition to freelancers who do this but eventually, they get blocked for good. 

Just a little Sunday musing from the client side. 

16 REPLIES 16
yitwail
Community Member

I’m strictly a freelancer and I don’t pester old clients for work. However, I’d cut some slack for freelancers who do, IF the client never closed the contract, because that theoretically means they might need more work done.

John K wrote:
I’m strictly a freelancer and I don’t pester old clients for work. However, I’d cut some slack for freelancers who do, IF the client never closed the contract, because that theoretically means they might need more work done.

Agreed.

I would also say that, although pestering someone is annoying , I don't think putting yourself back in the client's mind is always bad idea? 

I contact past clients every few months or so, I typically don't say anything much beyond asking how things are going with the work I did.  I take a local client out to lunch every few month, last time he did he said there might be something coming up.  Would he have thought of me if were not eating Mongolian BBQ together?  No way to know but I don't regret doing it.