🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Opt Out
Page options
howardkristy
Community Member

Opt Out

Hi there-

According to Upwork's Legal document, a hiring entity may pay an Opt Out fee and hire, work, and pay directly with a client.  Is this correct? 

The reason I ask: I submitted a proposal to a job listing, had an interview, and was offered a job.  However, the agency- Alliance Residential Company- mentioned during the interview that they had paid an opt-out fee and, if hired, I would be working directly with their company and not receiving my salary through UpWork. 

I am brand new to UpWork, so I'm skeptical of accepting the job unless I know for certain that it's legit. The agency has no record with UpWork; no past job posts and no verified payment method.  

I hope to receive a response from UpWork in a timely manner, as I have searched in vain for a way to directly contact a support tech. 

Many thanks, 

Kristy 

7 REPLIES 7
florydev
Community Member

You are right to be skeptical Kristy, I have never been offered an Opt-Out but I thought you actually had to work with a client through one contract to even have a chance too.

What is it they are asking you to do?

This is UpWorks official documentation on Opting Out: https://www.upwork.com/legal#optingout

petra_r
Community Member

Kristy H wrote:

The reason I ask: I submitted a proposal to a job listing, had an interview, and was offered a job.  However, the agency- Xxxxxxxxxxxx- mentioned during the interview that they had paid an opt-out fee and, if hired, I would be working directly with their company and not receiving my salary through UpWork. 

I am brand new to UpWork, so I'm skeptical of accepting the job unless I know for certain that it's legit. The agency has no record with UpWork; no past job posts and no verified payment method.  

It's a scam. Block them and move on.

florydev
Community Member

Petra R wrote:

Kristy H wrote: