cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Payment to Local Funds transfer instead of Paypal

ljpenner
Leanne P Member Since: Mar 6, 2015
1 of 10

I am new to oDesk and set up all my account information - both Paypal and Local Funds transfer account.

I got my first job, got paid and could not find where it went. After searching, I found that it went to my Local Funds transfer account (it was not a local client) and should have gone to my Paypal account.

Is there any way to get this money back? Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

david_gregory
Community Guru
David G Member Since: Oct 6, 2011
2 of 10

To be honest, I 'm a little confused by your post.

Did the money you were paid come to oDesk first (like it's supposed to) or were you being paid outside of oDesk (a big no no)? All money is supposed to be paid through oDesk so they get their 10% as a fee for connecting you with the client.

If it was in your oDesk account, then when you want to withdraw mondey, you specify where it goes. I have a few different ways set up to receive my money. When I want to withdraw, there's a little dropdown menu where you can specify where you want the money to go.

Whether the client was local or not does not matter.

There's also the automatic withdrawal system which you need to set up. You can set when the automatic withdrawal will be triggered based on money amount and date. You can also set up where it will go.

ljpenner
3 of 10

Thanks very much for the reply David. Sorry for the confusion.

The money was paid through oDesk and their fee was deducted.

I did not hit the "pay" button but let it go through the time period I originally set up to pay me within 2 weeks if over $100.

When I originally set up my payments, I set up Paypal payments and local payments.

What was NOT clear when I set these up was that is chose a local payment as a default.