cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Paypal have sent and email about EU regulations

amr a Member Since: Jan 20, 2015
1 of 6

Hello , i just recived a notification from paypal about 
EU regulations require that we collect additional account information , after i have recived more than $1800

to resolve the issue i have 3 options to choose from paypal.png

i would like to know what should i do since im only a freelancer and not a business 

Thanks in advamce

Community Guru
Suzanne N Member Since: Aug 15, 2012
2 of 6

I don't know what you are considered under EU for tax purposes, but in the US you are a business, sole proprietor. So you would still choose one that had to do with a business.

I suppose it is going to depend on your tax laws and requirements in your country, but in the US if you make over $600 in a given year you must file and you are considered a business.

I assume they are wanting you to choose a Sole Proprietor on the choices there. They are a bit hard to read without zooming them.

Community Leader
Susanne D Member Since: Mar 15, 2015
3 of 6

That is exactly my problem with PayPal.

If you say you have a business, although sole owner, they will aks for more documentation, that i, for example, cannot provide. If I chose private account, I have a limit of somewhere 2500 USD per YEAR that I can receive.

So, for me, PayPal is not usable. I am still searching for an alternative. LTF would be nice, but the algorithsm here do not take into account that I might have a suitable bank account in another country than the one I live in.

Community Guru
Tony H Member Since: Nov 10, 2011
4 of 6

What do they ask for that you can't provide?