cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Percentage of jobs left unfilled

Liv D Member Since: Jul 29, 2016
1 of 21

I am new to Upwork.  Over the last two months or so I've been monitoring jobs in my category of interest -- those I've applied to, and others I've bookmarked -- and the vast majority (like 90%) of them have seem to remain unfilled. I was wondering if anyone can point me toward statistics on the number of Upwork job postings that actually get filled.  If more than half commonly remain unfilled, then I think I need to spend my time doing something other than applying to upwork jobs...

Community Guru
Mariska P Member Since: Apr 27, 2015
2 of 21

Setu M (freelancer) has done up some stats concerning jobs filled if i remember right. If he hasn't worked on anything he's probably really busy working. Smiley Happy 

Community Guru
Mary W Member Since: Nov 10, 2014
3 of 21

Well, all you actually know is whether these jobs were filled through Upwork.  Many jobs get filled on other platforms and/or face to face interviews.

4 of 21

Yeah, that is unfortunate since it would indicate many people breaking Upwork's policies.

This is the data by Setu M. and I found it useful.  Looks like out of the sample he followed, close to half the jobs remained unfilled after 30 days.  With those kinds of numbers, doesn't make a lot of sense to spend a lot of time applying for jobs.

https://community.upwork.com/t5/Freelancers/Open-Jobs-Trending-Down-Upwork-Statistics/td-p/96546/hig...

Community Guru
Mary W Member Since: Nov 10, 2014
5 of 21

There is no Upwork policy that prohibits clients from posting their jobs on other forums or from hiring elsewhere.

6 of 21

Oh, I thought you were suggesting the clients found a freelancer via their Upwork job post, but hired outside of Upwork.  I suppose either is a possiblity, along with many other reasons jobs might remain unfilled.

Community Guru
Scott E Member Since: Jul 26, 2015
7 of 21