🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Perplexing situation with prospective client
Page options
fredcomm
Community Member

Perplexing situation with prospective client

Good morning.

I had a perplexing situation with a prospective client this morning, and I'm wondering if anyone can provide insights or suggestions.

This morning I submitted a proposal for a project with a description that began, "I need 400 words in five hours." I submitted a proposal, and the client made me an offer. I was about to accept the offer when I noticed the Weekly Limit was "1 hours per week." I wasn't sure what that meant. I had two guesses:

1) I would do up to five hours of work today (remember, the project needed to be completed in five hours or less), but only get paid for one hour because that was the limit.

2) I would do up to five hours of work today, and eventually get paid for all of it, but only for one hour per week over the next five weeks.

Perhaps both of those were wrong; I'm still fairly new to Upwork so I'm not sure. That's part of my question.

I messaged the prospective client back, thanking her for the offer, that I was ready to jump in, but asking if she could please change the Weekly Limit first. A few minutes later she withdrew the offer, withi the reason listed as, "I am hiring another freelancer."

So, what did I do wrong? Was it unreasonable of me to ask for the Weekly LImit increase? Would I have been paid for all my work despite that 1-hour weekly limit?

I'd like to understand so that if I made a mistake I don't repeat it in the future. Thank you in advance for your help.

All the best,

Martin

6 REPLIES 6
hoyle_editing
Community Member

Sounds to me like you had a lucky escape! Requesting the increase was totally reasonable and i can only assume they were looking to find someone that does not notice! 

I would report the situation personally, the client is asking for 5 hours work but only willing to pay for 1

Thank you for the response, Jonathan!