🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Phishing Scam - I am really naive
Page options
d472434b
Community Member

Phishing Scam - I am really naive - However, I am trying to make this entertaining.

Hello All,

I'm new to upwork and I did something extremely naive today and did a Skype interview with a potential "client" in which I was hired for a role that was reasonably well described and something I have done tons of times before.  I was asked for personal information after I was "hired" and I didn't think much about it until after.  I gave lots of personal information including address and banks I use but not social security or account numbers.  Soooooooooooooooo stupid but I didn't think upwork would have scams on the site.

Does anyone know how to report a client?

Tony

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
PradeepH

Hi Anthony,

Thank you for your message. I checked the job post you were referring to and forwarded it to the relevant team to investigate further. The team has confirmed that they have taken down the job because it was in violation of Upwork TOS.

Please keep communications on Upwork until your contract starts. It’ll help you stay safe from scams, plus it’s against our Terms of ServicePlease check out this course for more tips on staying safe on Upwork and please use the flag option found on each job post or message anytime you’d like to report a violation.

Thank you,

Pradeep

Upwork

View solution in original post

35 REPLIES 35
d472434b
Community Member

martina_plaschka
Community Member

It is not reasonable to expect upwork to be the only scammer-free zone on the internet. 

From the job posting, there is really no indication that this is a scam except new and unverified client, but that is not a certainty.