cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plagiarism

andrea-harrison
Andrea H Member Since: Apr 6, 2016
1 of 17

Hello. I am just starting out and had received my first assignment in which I had to write an article on '11 home remedies for colon cleansing' for someone's blog. It was a test article to see if I was the right fit, only paying $5. I proceeded to do the research online before writing the article. I took information from a few articles and paraphrased it, while giving credit to expert advice through identification and quotes. I checked my work on copyscape and when I noted some red flags I went back to revise the sentence structure in some paragraphs and replaced some wordage with synonyms.

Unfortunately I had to end the contract because the client found examples of plagiarized data using copyscape.

Although I am an inexperienced writer, I was a Journalism major and I understand the concept of researching and writing an article. My definition of Plagiarism is using someone elses's work without their permission and passing it as your own, word for word. I did not do that. When writing an article on a popular topic that has been covered by other authors, such as colon cleaner, it is unavoidable to refrain from using shared or similar terminology. I even did an experiment by re-revising my article(after I ended the contract) and checking again with copyscape. It still came up plagiarized in certain areas!

My question is, how can copyscape be such a determining factor in whether an article is plagiarized, when shared terminology and quotes come up in red as being copied? Unless you write an article on a unique topic that hasn't been covered  or you provide a unique angle to a topic that has already been tackled, how can you  possibly avoid some similarities in writing for a topic so frequently covered, like in colon cleansing?

Any advice given would be greatly appreciated!

286a3b07
Simone F Member Since: Jun 8, 2016
2 of 17