sarinebelle

Please advise, what to do with this client comparing me to another freelancer mid-contract

Hi all, please give me some advise. I'm pretty new to this, although I've not slacked, reading everything I can and trying to learn from other's stories on here.

I have this client who, after I sent the draft for the 4th textile print they commissioned, said that they have another freelancer who gives the print to them in 3 different backgrounds (they mean colorways), and so (in their words) ''so I would like you to do that too.'' The thing is, I did say I charge a little extra for every colorway, at the beginning of the contract, in my very first message to them when I outlined our agreement. For all the past 3 prints, they never asked to do more than 1 colorway. And the way they said that I had to make these into 3 colorways like the other freelancer does is like they just want me to do that, no questions asked, because that's what the other one is doing and I should just take their word for it. To me, I am just not involved in what deal they have with the other freelancer, if there is even another freelancer. This same client has also been trying to get me to draw free clothing CAD flats for them and I've dodged those gracefully and professionally, in my opinion. But this situation has me stumped.

How can I say it in a way that would still be professional but firm. Should I say that, hey I did say before that addtl. colorway is priced $ each. How would I say that in a non-icky way? And should I even address that I have no involvement in their deal with the other freelancer? Just, how can I reply to this? I'm scared of a bad review as I am VERY NEW. Lol. But I also do not want to be the freelancer who just gives in to all the clients' whims, which affects how clients treat other freelancers, too.

16 REPLIES 16
petra_r

"Hi Fred / Frannie,