🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Possible Scam
Page options
0094155e
Community Member

Possible Scam

I suspect that I may be involved in a potential scam situation. As a web developer, this is my first time using Upwork. On Sunday morning, I came across a job posting for a simple two-page website and decided to apply. Later that night, the client reached out to me, and we began discussing the project. During our interview, I noticed that the client's response times were unusually long. When I checked the job posting again, I discovered that they were simultaneously interviewing about 25 other individuals.

Eventually, we agreed upon an hourly rate, but the client also requested that I purchase a domain name and hosting on their behalf. They promised to send me a bonus amount to cover the expenses. As a newcomer to Upwork, I was unaware that the payment would not be instantly available and would instead be listed as pending. The client sent me an offer from a different account, which I accepted. They then asked me to proceed with purchasing the domain and provide them with an update.

Upon checking the availability of the domain, I found that it was already taken on various hosting platforms. The client suggested I purchase it from Namecheap, where it was being sold at a premium price of $159, well beyond my budget. I messaged the client, explaining my confusion as a new user on the platform, and offered an alternative solution. I proposed that the client could purchase the domain themselves, and I would develop the website on a local host server. Once the website was completed, I would then upload it to the desired domain.

Now, it is Monday evening, and I have not received a response from the client. Out of curiosity, I checked the account from which the offer was sent and discovered that it was created on the same day with no reviews. Additionally, the account from which the job was posted is still actively offering the position and has interviewed four more people.