🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Possible as a freelancer to hire another free...
Page options
takennelly
Community Member

Possible as a freelancer to hire another freelancer?

Ok, so here's the scenario.  I'm a freelancer (aka not an agency) that bills $85/hour.  From time to time, my clients need a service that I can't provide, however, I have a good reliable contact (also an Upwork freelancer) that bills at $20/hour (and is happy at that rate).  Let's call him Dev.  I'd like to be able to tell my clients that I can provide the service under my billing scheme (aka $85/hour or whatever my negotiated rate ends up being), raise Dev's rate to $40/hour under that billing, and effectively split the hours so that for every hour he does his work, he earns $40/hour and I earn the remainder.  I think this could be a really mutually beneficial idea, but I haven't proposed it because I'm not sure how to do that in Upwork.  Is this possible?  Do I need to be an agency and bring him in?  If that's the case, would he still have the flexibility to pursue his own projects (as I would prefer and, I'm sure, he would too)?  Just to be clear - for the sake of this scenario I'm not interested in discussing Upwork commissions, VAT, etc.  Want to know first if the overarching idea is even plausible,

Thanks!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
petra_r
Community Member

You are not allowed to farm out hourly contracts, not even with your client's knowledge and consent.

You'd have to create an agency, add Dev to the agency, and get your client to hire Dev through the agency at $ 40 an hour,  the agency gets paid. (Dev, of course, sees that you are pimping him out at a 100% mark-up and the client can see that he is getting a $ 20 an hour freelancer for $ 40 an hour. Only you know if you think that is a way to build trusting business relationships...)

Trent K wrote:

I think this could be a really mutually beneficial idea, !

It doesn't. It sounds like exploiting both sides (Dev and the client)