🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Possible scam?
Page options
alex_filart
Community Member

Possible scam?

Hello fellow freelancers,

I hope everyone is doing well and keeping healthy.

I'm relatively new to Upwork and haven't had much success with getting clients. I did, however, run into a client recently where they sent over a questionnaire and then I had to submit the answers back. It took over 30 minutes or so. Once I submitted my answers, the interviewer started asking me for my name, address, email, and phone number. It felt really weird so I decided to opt out of it in the last minute just in case it was a scam. Fast forward today and I get another interview invite using the same attached letter but now with different questions. 

Is this what I should expect from an online interview (norm) or does this strike you as out of the ordinary?

I'd really appreciate some honest feedback.

**Edited for community guidelines**

10 REPLIES 10
petra_r
Community Member

Alex F wrote:

Is this what I should expect from an online interview (norm) or does this strike you as out of the ordinary?

Flag the job post as inappropriate. The client is trying to make you violate Upwork's terms of service by asking you to communicate outside the latform before there is a contract, which is forbidden. And then they will try to scam you. (Fake check scam)

You are ONLY allowed to be interviewed on the platform.

prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "...a client recently where they sent over a questionnaire and then I had to submit the answers back. It took over 30 minutes or so. Once I submitted my answers, the interviewer started asking me for my name, address, email, and phone number."

That is not a job. That is a scheme.

You already know that these "clients" are up to no good. They don't want to hire you to help them and pay you money. Their goal is something else. And it's not going to end up good for you if you get involved.

johnchristopher2
Community Member

Hi Alex,