Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Post-merger blues : No jobs for months, I'm about to give up :/

michaeldk
Ace Contributor
Michael D Member Since: Jan 29, 2015
1 of 18

Hi all!

I've been part of oDesk/Upwork for a while now. The merger to Upwork never worried me, initially. However after more than 3 months of solicitations and responding on jobs, I have ended up with exactly zero clients. Well, one client who scammed me, if that counts.

I am getting a bit desperate, especially because I depend financially on extra income from Upwork. Some basic information about my situation:

- I'm a Dutch graphic designer with a Bachelor in Art & design.
- I speak four languages, of which Dutch as a native and English as near-native (raised internationally)
- I am Top-rated, have a 100% job-success score
- I am part of the Upwork Pro talent pool
- My specializations are (art)magazine and (e)book designs and corporate identities. But I also have experience designing posters, brochures, whitebooks and generally anything printed.
- I have applied various writing styles and techniques, emphasizing different aspects
- I always respond to any clue in the client's job offering to show I write tailored emails, not generic ones
- My website (which I always mention various times as a source of portfolio material) is modern and looks good

Last year (basically before November 2015) I would respond to 6-7 job offers and would be awarded one, or at the very least receive an invitation to interview. Right now I have written perhaps as much as 60-70 solicitations to job offerings (including on lower and lower budget ones, and lower my asking price more and more as an experiment) and have received exactly one back, which turned out to be a scam.