🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Potential Scam
Page options
1be010f9
Community Member

Potential Scam

Hello, 

I am new to the Upwork platform and I believe I am in the middle of a scam. The company has contacted me via Skype (where all communication has been) and they closed the job posting on Upwork. I was told they would load the posting back up when we begin so I can get paid through it. But it obviously sounds fishy, but I cannot figure out how to report them since they closed the posting. They want to send me money to purchase equipment. 

Any advice would be appreciated, thank you!

8 REPLIES 8
prestonhunter
Community Member

Upwork ToS prohibits freelancers from talking with prospective clients outside of the Upwork platform until an official Upwork contract is in place.

You are not allowed to communicate with a prospective client (who hasn't hire you yet) via Skype.

re: "They want to send me money to purchase equipment"

Only scammers ask this.

There is no real job. This person is not a client. He is a scammer who is trying to steal money from your bank account.

re: "But it obviously sounds fishy, but I cannot figure out how to report them since they closed the posting."

My advice is to use the "Flag as inappropriate" option on the job posting page to report a client who does this. But in your case, because the job posting is already gone, simply block this person in the Messages tool and move on. I advise you to take no further action.

allpurposewriter
Community Member

If it waddles like a duck, it's probably a duck. In this case, it's not even debatable. It's a duck.

Client asks to communicate via Skype?

Probably a scam.

Client says he will send you money to purchase computer equipment?

Definitely a scam.