🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Potential Scams on Upwork
Page options
39890bec
Community Member

Potential Scams on Upwork

Hi All

I'm relatively new to upwork but enjoying it so far. What I have been noticing over the last few days is an increase in numbers of potential scams. It's usually a request to retype English documents from a picture onto a word document and they offer quite large amounts for a very easy task. I applied to one as I was intrigued. I then got asked to start messaging via telegraph. Which I didn't. They then proceeded to send me a link to a video demo which lasted 12 minutes and it was a very basic retyping task. I then said I was interested. They then sent me a PDF document with a list of projects saying I had to pay upfront (almost $120) as they needed to ensure they can trust me. Immediately I knew it was a scam and did not part with any hard earned cash, therefore I reported them immediately.

I just wanted to share my experience to my fellow freelancers to alert this is going on. If you see these types of jobs please flag them as inappropriate immediately as I wouldn't like anyone to waste their connects on even applying for these jobs. I've reported at least 20 in the last 2 days! Would be good if upwork could perhaps fund a project for someone to do a daily purge of these types of jobs. 

43 REPLIES 43
pgiambalvo
Community Member

Hi, Elizabeth. Yes, the scam post problem is STILL getting worse. I see 40 plus every day just in my own very limited search parameters. I agree that "Would be good if upwork could perhaps fund a project for someone to do a daily purge of these types of jobs." Not gonna happen. Why not? Just my opinion, but besides other reasons you will hear, money. But if 9 scam posts get blocked for every 1 legitimate one that mistakenly gets blocked, that's fine by me.

Absolutely Peter!