🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Potential clients disappear
Page options
donnamcfarland
Community Member

Potential clients disappear

I am new to Upwork (1st 30 days). I have sent 21 proposals and had a 33% response rate, which seems pretty good to me since I'm so new. I was hired for only one job (still in progress). On the others, we correspond, maybe talk by phone, they seem like they're ready to hire me and then that's the last I hear from them. I look back at their job postings and there is no activity -- they don't appear to be interviewing or hiring somebody else, either. The most recent was one where we corresponded, agreed on the work and the price. I got a message saying she wanted to hire me and she was in a hurry -- how soon could I start? I answered that I could start that day. That was last week and I still haven't received an offer or reply message. Is this typical? Is there normally a couple week lag between contact and being hired? Thanks.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "I got a message saying she wanted to hire me and she was in a hurry -- how soon could I start?"

Oh? Are you in a hurry?

Okay!

I can start right away!

re: "That was last week and I still haven't received an offer or reply message."

Then the client was not ACTUALLY in a hurry.

re: "Is this typical?"

Typical?

I don't know. But it happens.

re: "Is there normally a couple week lag between contact and being hired?"

Yes.

There is always a lag.

Sometimes that lat time is just a few seconds.

Sometimes a few minutes.

Sometimes a few months.

I do not follow up or chase down clients.

If a client wants to hire me, she knows where to find me.

If she is not ready to work with me yet, that's fine. I'm not going anywhere. When you're ready, I'll be right where you left me... you can find me using Upwork Messages, and you can send me an official contract offer. And after I have a contract in place, I'll start working for you.

View solution in original post