Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Price increase on a fixed price contract

Highlighted
Allison H Member Since: Nov 12, 2016
1 of 12

Hi!

I'm a new freelancer. I have been doing a fixed price job since the beginning of December. I went in at a lowish price, to secure the contract. It's been going very well so far. I would like to know when (or if) it would be appropriate to ask to be paid more per article. I would not want to put a spanner in the works, however, my work is of a high standard and I feel that it's worth more than I have been getting up to now. I have submitted abut 35 articles in December, all of them having been accepted. Can anyone possibly help me with this? 

Many thanks!

Highlighted
Community Guru
Joachim M Member Since: Mar 23, 2015
2 of 12

@Allison H wrote:

Hi!

I'm a new freelancer. I have been doing a fixed price job since the beginning of December. I went in at a lowish price, to secure the contract. It's been going very well so far. I would like to know when (or if) it would be appropriate to ask to be paid more per article. I would not want to put a spanner in the works, however, my work is of a high standard and I feel that it's worth more than I have been getting up to now. I have submitted abut 35 articles in December, all of them having been accepted. Can anyone possibly help me with this? 

Many thanks!

Allison,

If you have a fixed price contract you should honour it until it is completed. 

Highlighted
3 of 12

Thanks for the reply. How long does a contract normlly run? There has been no time frame stipulated.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Rene K Member Since: Jul 10, 2014
4 of 12

@Allison H wrote:

Thanks for the reply. How long does a contract normlly run? There has been no time frame stipulated.