🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Problem Client has Me Fearful of Bad Review
Page options
b82ae60c
Community Member

Problem Client has Me Fearful of Bad Review

I'm currently dealing with an ornery and uncommunicative client who has asked for too many revisions. We have a fixed price contract that is quite low in budget so I don't want to continue working. I have expressed to the client that his lack of communication of what he wants has caused my continued work on his project. I had then stated I will design again, but anything after that I will require more money. He became angry refused to pay more and threatened to take his work elsewhere.
I had then told him that I will design them but if he wishes to go elsewhere he may. He followed up by instructing me to try again.

I'm new to Upwork, this is only my third client. I'm really not sure whether to drop him or try and continue since I've invested my time already. I'm also afraid that if I do complete the project and he gives me a terrible score, (which he most likely will) it will screw me before I've even started.

So yes, any wisdom from any of you veterans would mean a whole lot.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Yes they can leave a review once the contract is closed and so closing the contract may not be the smartest move just now. Either you'll have to suck this one up finish it and hope for the best or explain you don't think you can complete the task the way they have asked within the original budget and ask them what they want to do.

They may close the contract and leave a review but it sounds like your at risk of that at the moment anyway. 

The fast learn on here is to think of all the things that can possibly go wrong in your area of work and try and pin them down at the start on what you will do for the budget. We all learn the hard way at first but it gets easier.

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
2a05aa63
Community Member