🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Problem with an unreasonable client - love to...
Page options
bogdandjordjevic
Community Member

Problem with an unreasonable client - love to hear your opinions!

Hello everyone, this is my first addressing here regarding an issue with a client. I will be brief, but if you have any questions don't hesitate to ask 😉 Every oppinion is important to me.

I am a graphic designer and relatively new freelancer here on the platform. I had 6 successful jobs, clients that were satisfied with my work and 2 of them are returning. Got all 5-star reviews, but this is the first time I meet the situation like this.

So, here we go:
I applied for a fixed project to design a logo for a startup company dealing with natural cosmetics.  The fee was low in start but, however, I applied. My first mistake was that I wasn't specific what I will do for those 30 bucks (eg. 1 logo + 1 revision), instead I went further and provided three logos to the customer. Client was impressed and liked a lot the logos I sent, but asked me to change the company name. I said that it is not a problem and it will be done but which version should I modify? Instead, he sent me the next day his idea how the logo should like and provided an extra information about the company products which should've inspire me to make something more in accordance. I told him reasonably, that I invested about 30 hours in developing ideas, coceptualisation and realisation (my bad because I always tend to go an extra mile and to provide an extra value to the client), and when I get the net fee it is basically less than $1 per hour!