🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Problem with an unresponsive client
Page options
bouzasclaudia
Community Member

Problem with an unresponsive client

I have a delicate situation with a client: I am a writer, and a client asked me for 10 articles in English and Spanish. The deal was to write the articles in English, she reviewed them and sent them to me approved so I could translate them. The payment was when I finished the 10 articles. I finished writing them all in English, but I have 4 more to translate because she has not returned them to me approved. The project is already 2 months old because a month ago it started to disappear and almost did not respond. She says she's busy and doesn't tell me what's going on, or why she doesn't give me any of the missing articles. The money is in escrow but because of the agreement to collect it at the end, I haven't received it. I am very upset and this situation is affecting my job score negatively, having a contract without earnings for 2 months. What can I do, that doesn't affect me negatively? I need help.

8 REPLIES 8
tlsanders
Community Member

Ideally, this would have been set up as separate milestones, so you could have requested payment for the English articles when you submitted them. You've produced a lot of content and handed it over without any guarantee of payment. 

I would request payment officially by clicking "submit/request payment" as soon as possible in one way or the other. Since you've come this far and have only four of 20 articles left, you may want to just quickly wrap those up and submit--if the client needs revisions, she can use the appropriate procedure to request them.

Another alternative would be to submit a payment request for half of the project; you can do this by clicking the aforementioned button, noting that you are requesting payment for the English articles only, then changing the amount of the request to 50% of the total (or whatever is appropriate for just the English articles).