🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Problem with clients
Page options
a_elassimi
Community Member

Problem with clients

Hello, I am really happy to work with Upwork! I have never imagined someone will hire me since I have no experience.. but because of Upwork, I am a beginner, but still, there is clients who hired me and I finally start working and gaining experience! And I am so happy to work with them! But there is clients who ask for taking the job outside the platform, one is rude to me when i didn't agree to work with him on skype! And another one isn't happy after a month because I didn't finish the work, without hiring me or asking me! I don't know what should I do! Is it really my fault with these clients that I am not professional as one said? Please tell me what to do.
Thank you.
4 REPLIES 4
jmlaidlaw
Community Member

Assma --

A beginner can be a professional. If you are smart enough and have enough integrity to insist on following the rules of the platform (the rules you agreed to when you signed up, and the rules that will PROTECT YOU AND YOUR EARNINGS), that is one criterion of professionalism.

If some twit of a client wants to berate you when you resist rule-breaking, then it is THAT CLIENT who is unprofessional and rude, and who is most likely intending to take advantage of you.

You ask what to do:  Resist the rude and bullying clients. Do what is right. Stick to the Terms of Service. Come to the Forums for advice (as you are doing) -- advice and answers from fellow Freelancers and from Moderators, all of whom will generally have your best interests at heart.

Keep working, and BEST WISHES for continued success.

browersr
Community Member

Honestly freelancing isn't really for people with no experience. Not that it's impossible but expect a lot more scamming and other related issues as people take advantage of your desire to gain any experience and likely very low rate.