🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Profile Visibility
Page options
emmac6248
Community Member

Profile Visibility

Over the past couple of days I've started to post on the community boards about profile visibility.  It seems there is an ongoing issue with Upwork and algorithms.  I am a top rated plus freelancer with 100% JSS and 866 jobs under my belt.  I used to get 10+ invitations a day, from November it tailed off to zero.  Despite contacting Upwork about 20 times about this, I've got nowhere.  The first time I contacted support I was told there was an issue with my profile and 3 weeks later it was "fixed", but it wasn't.  The next time I contacted support I was given a very standard response (told to set my profile to public, publish other profiles etc) nothing I didn't know about and it seemed the agent didn't even bother to look at my profile as I'd already done all of the above.  The only thing I don't do is project catalog because it never worked for me.  The past couple of weeks it's got worse than ever and I've resorted to spending money on proposals and getting nowhere.  I know there's a problem, I've had members search for me and not find me (not search my name - why would a potential client know I exist)?  My question is, has anyone got anywhere with this issue or are many of us in the same boat?  My second question is, why should we then bother?

10 REPLIES 10
abu_ansarul-mush
Community Member

I'm sorry to hear that you're experiencing difficulty with profile visibility on Upwork despite being a top-rated freelancer. I can understand how frustrating this can be, especially if you have contacted Upwork multiple times without receiving a satisfactory resolution.

It's possible that your profile is not being shown to clients due to changes in Upwork's algorithms, as you mentioned. However, it's also possible that there are other factors at play, such as changes in the demand for your specific skill set or competition from other freelancers.