Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Profile review + why does 69% job success look more like 33%

nicholasxcato
Nicholas C Member Since: Feb 23, 2017
1 of 9

Hey all 

So I've been using upwork on and off for a couple of years. Last year I started visiting the site frequently trying to make this a consistent stream of income. 

I was getting a consistent stream of jobs (even nthough they were low paying) up until december when it all suddenly dried up. I dont know if its just this time of year but its pretty alarming how before I'd get atleast a reply now I get absolutley nothing.

When I apply for jobs that have only been up for 3 mins, has less than 5 proposals, but theres already 2 hires, it

feels more like the client is just hiring the first freelancer to send out a proposal at the lowest possible price but I could be wrong.

I would love to know if theres something I could improve on in my profile to get a better response.

After reviewing my profile a few days back I noticed that my job success rate was 69% (Due to a client who tried to get out of paying me for finished work) but on the meter it looks more like 33% than 69%...

Screen Shot 2017-02-23 at 12.04.21 PM.png

^ Whatever percentage that is its sure as heck isnt 69% let alone 50% for that matter. Seeing this is really upsetting especially seeing as out of the 7 jobs ive had so far 4 of them are rated and out of that 4, 3 are nearly prefect scores with the one bad score being that scammer client mentioned earlier. Does anyone have any idea why this would look like this? 70% isnt good but its definetly not as bad as its being portrayed by this meter to potential clients..

I really want to know if its viable to even use upwork at this point. I try my best to deliver top notch work to my clients even though it seems to be at a dissadvantage to me since the mediocre guy that works for peanuts wins in most cases.

Any advice is greatly appreciated

versailles
Community Guru