🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Prospective client wants me to take a persona...
Page options
5810051f
Community Member

Prospective client wants me to take a personality test

I am new to Upwork and to freelancing. A prospective client (for a VA job) wants me to take a third-party personality test and fill out a Google form with contact info... the test seems a little ridiculous for $9/hr. What do you all think? Scam or am I overreacting?

8 REPLIES 8
renata101
Community Member

Hi Julia,

No, you're definitely not overreacting. I think listening to your intuition is often a really smart thing. And posting if you have concerns about dealing with unfamiliar situations is a smart too.

I haven't heard of that one yet, but I'd be really wary of any job where someone presents you with a form that asks you to fill in a lot of information. There might be a follow-up form that asks for detailed banking and personal information.

You're right in questioning it. I can't see why you'd need to take a personality test to be a VA.

If they're asking for contact information, I'd avoid it. Using outside communication channels before you have a contract in place is actually a violation of Upwork's Terms of Service. In my experience, I've never had to go through any formal interview process with clients on Upwork. I don't know how it works with VA jobs, but I think a formalized interview might be a red flag to me.

This is a really good article to read if you're new to Upwork. It explains what to look out for in job postings.
https://community.upwork.com/t5/Community-Blog/Top-Red-Flags-for-Scams-From-Community-Member-Wes-C/b...

Thanks, Renata! This is helpful and confirms my suspicions. As a newbie here, I get excited for any chance at a gig but am so often disappointed by the sketchy clients.

Take time to read forum carefully. All newbies questions answered here lot of times. Always same questions and same answers. 🙂

Hey Julia,