sharonmre

Protection for Freelancers

There is zero protection for freelancers on Upwork. I was just forced to return $160 dollars to a previous client who never paid that amount. it remained in escrow and was never released to me but because her bank recalled the amount, I had to pay it. Before that another client accidentally pressed the wrong button and had no idea he had requested a refund. He called and we both tried to rectify the mistake but communication was so bad with upwork that they closed the dispute by making me refund the client for a job I successfully completed. Upwork does not even try to represent, defend or protect freelancers.

9 REPLIES 9
holland-jared

I am a new freelancer myself and I have just experienced my first client who just won't communicate and now there is a "hold on the contract". This work was completed on the 4th of November and even after it was approved by the client it's "on hold"? Come on Upwork. 

Upwork needs some quality customer service. I know there are people in this forum, but there's no one to actually reach out to for help. Automated messages aren't going to work for me. 

Hi Jared,

I see that the agent has already addressed your concern and explained that the payment was made and should be in your available funds on the 14th, ready for withdrawal despite the hold. The team is working with the client to address issues with their account.

~ Valeria
Upwork
kochubei_valeria
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Sharon,

@Sharon M wrote:

Before that another client accidentally pressed the wrong button and had no idea he had requested a refund. He called and we both tried to rectify the mistake but communication was so bad with upwork that they closed the dispute by making me refund the client for a job I successfully completed. 

____________________________________________________________________________________________