🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Qualifying Experience on UpWork
Page options
4fa5ad81
Community Member

Qualifying Experience on UpWork

It would be great if UpWork would allow for equal opportunity to qualify for projects. Instead of requiring that a freelancer have earned a certain amount of money on UpWork, could you ask for project experience or job references? Because I am new to UpWork, I've found myself immediately disqualified from some great projects simply because I have not earned enough (yet) through Upwork. In many cases, I have several years of experience that directly relates to the project. We have to start somewhere on UpWork, so why not let our experience speak for itself?

4 REPLIES 4
petra_r
Community Member

Maggie C wrote:

It would be great if UpWork would allow for equal opportunity to qualify for projects. Instead of requiring that a freelancer have earned a certain amount of money on UpWork,

Upwork require no such thing at all. Clients (!) set preferences, which you are free to ignore. Everyone started from 0. If you feel you are a great fit for a gig, apply anyway.

Maggie C wrote:

We have to start somewhere on UpWork, so why not let our experience speak for itself?

Why don't you? Is anything stopping you?

Maggie C wrote:

I've found myself immediately disqualified from some great projects 

Nope, you never found yourself "disqualified"

Maggie C wrote:

It would be great if UpWork would allow for equal opportunity to qualify for projects. 

"Equal opportunity?"

You think the rest of us were somehow born with a hiring history, money earned and jobs under our belts?

We weren't. We started at 0 too. So there's your "equal opportunity" right there.

petra_r
Community Member

sorry weird double post gremlin strikes again.