🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Quality and amount of clients
Page options
jade__digital
Community Member

Quality and amount of clients

Hello Upwork community, 

As a top-rated Upwork freelancer, I expect to see clients knocking down my door! I worked so hard to get my top-rated status only to 1) not get any contracts 2) have projects sent to me that aren't in line with that I'm looking for. 

Am I missiong something? 

8 REPLIES 8
tlsanders
Community Member

It seems like maybe you're missing the fact that there are huge numbers of top-rated freelancers on Upwork and it doesn't really mean all that much.

I just did a quick search for US freelancers offering inbound marketing services, and 49 of the first 50 who showed up in search were top-rated. 47 of those had JSS higher than yours. 

When I limited my search to inbound marketing freelancers in the US with JSS > 90%, I got more than 350 results. 

So how do I stand out? What do you recommend?
a_lipsey
Community Member

Evelynn J wrote:

Hello Upwork community, 

As a top-rated Upwork freelancer, I expect to see clients knocking down my door! I worked so hard to get my top-rated status only to 1) not get any contracts 2) have projects sent to me that aren't in line with that I'm looking for. 

Am I missiong something? 

I am very curious where you got the expectation that clients would be knocking down your door? 

It would be easy too understand that expectations might run away some if a person earns a badge like "top rated". But top rated into any other normal job and you would likley see a greater demand for those services or goods. 

I don't understand.
petra_r
Community Member

What Tiffary said... Being top rated is nice, but most of your competitors are, too.

Additionally, your profile overview is written in the third person, which is a major turn-off for a lot of people. I'd rewrite it in the first person if I were you