cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about fixed-price jobs

Highlighted
Alfonz M Member Since: Jun 4, 2012
1 of 4
Hi, I'm new to oDesk and I have a couple questions. I just applied for a job and we're done with the interview. The client said he will hire me for the task (and even offered for more work later) and gave me the requirements document, but he hasn't actually awarded me the contract on oDesk. I don't really see any red flags from the client though: his payment method is verified and he has already spent a lot on other jobs. 1.) Should I insist on the contract right away before I send him the first version of the work? I understand that oDesk doesn't guarantee payment for fixed-price jobs. So what do I get if we set up the contract before I start the work v.s. set the contract in the middle or after the job? What do I benefit from the contract in case the client doesn't pay? 2.) When do I get to leave feedback on a client? Can I leave feedback if there's a contract but the client doesn't pay? 3.) How does upfront payment work? Does the client automatically get charged for the upfront payment I placed on my application once he awards me the job/contract? Thanks!
Highlighted
Community Guru
Katrina B Member Since: Jan 9, 2011
2 of 4