Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about low offers

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Emily S Member Since: Oct 6, 2015
1 of 31

I just got started with Upwork and I've been browsing the jobs.  I noticed some of them are offering to pay a really low amount.  Like $20 for a job that would probably take 4 or 5 hours or more.  Or .50 cents for 100 words!

I haven't submitted any proposals yet, but it is my understanding that we bid how much we want to be paied for the job, correct?  So I'm wondering if any of you bother even submitting proposals for jobs like that?  Do you just put your bid amount even though it is higher than their budget?  Do they ever realize that most people aren't going to do quality work for that low of a payment? Or do you just pass those jobs by?

I'm new to professional writing, so I realize I'll have to maybe take less than I'd like in the beginning just to get some experience under my belt.  But I don't want to completely sell myself short or waste my time.  On the other hand, I'm afraid that with no experience, I don't have a chance of getting those higher paying job to start out. 

Highlighted
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 31

Emily, once you get going you will be able to be more discerning about jobs. You can ignore lowballers. But right now you just need to get on the playing board. You should finish a job or two so that you can get things started. Apply for and complete some fixed-rate jobs, and don't worry too much about the money until you finish two, because that will help you get hired more for real work.

Highlighted
Lilian B Member Since: Sep 10, 2015
3 of 31

"don't worry too much about the money" Seriously? You mean "be a slave work for free, no problem,,," Great advice, indeed! 

Highlighted
Community Guru
Hanna N Member Since: Jun 17, 2015
4 of 31