🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Question for Editors: Do you also format?
Page options
bundie702
Community Member

Question for Editors: Do you also format?

I'm seeing a disturbing trend in job listings for editors where the clients say they want manuscripts formatted--often for e-book AND print, with a table of contents--as well as edited (clients often say they want editing and proofreading, and I explain to them that these are two different tasks and should be done by two different people). I recently had a client who, when I pointed out the wonky formatting of their document, told me they thought I would fix that. I explained that as an editor, I work with words. Formatting, to me, is not a task done by editors; that is why God created formatters.

My question is, are there people who will actually do both under the same contract? 

5 REPLIES 5
m_sharman
Community Member

I wil do simple formatting, leveraging the style function in Word to create headers, TOC, etc - nothing fancy.  

What I don't provide is graphic/layout etc. 

But formatting for ebook or printing is very different.

I do also get dragged into the proofreading piece and always warn I am not a strong proofreader.

I also usually stick to fairly straightforward formatting. I've done formatting for Kindle and print, but I will usually suggest the client get someone else for that piece as it's not my strong suit and too often it strays into graphic design, which I definitely don't do.

Most of the time, I won't try to force the distinction between editing vs. proofreading with Upwork jobs. Whether the client calls it editing or proofreading doesn't usually matter to me because they often don't know the difference. I'll do the work the doc needs, and use the right terms when I'm talking with them, but I usually won't try to explain the difference unless it comes up. I'm not entirely sure this is the best path, but it's worked so far for me.