cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

** Rant about Rising Star qualification.

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Ivana P Member Since: Feb 22, 2015
1 of 16

I apologize if I'm gonna offend anyone with this.

What the hell is going on with the Rising Star qualification? 99.9% of jobs are requiring that the freelancer has to be a Rising Star. I'm not, because I've been working here for a couple of years. I don't mind the Risings stars, you go guys.

What I mind is the fact that clients don't have a clue what that means and they keep requesting it on the proposals. What I mind is the fact that when we apply to those jobs, Upwork does not show us as the recommended freelancers, but pushes us somwehere way down the list.

What I mind is the fact that from let's say 20 proposals I sent this month, I didn't get interviewed once, because 20 of those proposals were meant for Rising Stars.

What I mind is the fact that I can rarely find a proposal that requires a Top Rated freelancer or no qualification for status.

All of that leading to the fact that I can't get a single job, even though my feedbacks are good, even though my portfolio is smashing, even though I'm sending a non generic cover letter AND attaching letters of recommendations from my previous employers.

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

Highlighted
Vladimir G Moderator Member Since: Oct 31, 2014
2 of 16

Hi Ivana,

I understand you're frustrated by not getting responses to your recent proposals, but I don't think that the number of proposals you've submitted represents a sufficient sample to base any conclusion on. In addition, the activity decreases over the summer months so you still might hear back from these clients.

I disagree that the number of jobs with a Rising Talent preference trumps those with a Top Rated one. All the job posts have been recently defaulted to include both of these preferences, allowing further customization by the client.