cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Ebay

elaine_lynch
Active

Hi Guys

I have a guy that has payment cleared on Upwork. He wants me to list tools on ebay...My ebay account. But he does want payments into MY Paypal account then i pay the 10% ebay fees, then take 5% commission and send him the rest....Would you guys think this is ok?? I am new to Upwork, I have sent lots of proposals but not had any work as yet so I am still a little unsure whats good and whats not at the moment.. Thanks

9 REPLIES 9
versailles
Community Guru

Stop seeking for work right now.

Go to the help section and read it all. Once you do this read this forum for already given tips and advice against scams.

Then come back and seek work. This will prevent you to be banned from Upwork for accepting payment off-platform, eBay to close your account for fraud and cops to call you to talk about it.

-----------
"Where darkness shines like dazzling light"   —William Ashbless
colettelewis
Community Guru

No! No, no, no no! Elaine, when are you going to read all Upwork's rules and regs, to say nothing of the help pages for new freelancers?

This is not OK and it breaks every Upwork rule and you risk having your account suspended. What you must do is to report this client ASAP to customer services and hopefully, they will take care of it.

pandoraharper
Community Guru

This is scam. On more than one front, even.

Never, ever accept payment outside of Upwork.

There is a great thread about these jobs (and how to avoid them) here: https://community.upwork.com/t5/Freelancers/Job-warning-signs/td-p/21467

csjarmitage
Community Guru

This isn't okay.  Report the job to customer service and end all communication with the "client".  The least of your worries will be losing your Upwork account and your eBay account.  These guys are always looking for another account to trash.