Reply
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply

Ready files were sent in previous message room with client.What should I do?

dmitriy_sl
Active Member
Dmitriy S Member Since: Jul 28, 2020
1 of 4

Hello Upwork Community.My question is about message rooms and ready work.

 

I have two message rooms with one client(one from the previous contract) and I sent ready files in previous message room.

We discussed our actual job in previous room where the client sent me files to correct and asked for advices. After our discussion the client started new contract(so new room was created) but we continued to chat in the previous one so ready files for this actual contract were attached in the previous room.

 

After that the client disappered for more than 10 days  and I  decided to submitted work for payment without attaching files(mistakenly I thought that they were sent in the new room).

What should I do now?Should I resend files in the actual chat room and resubmit work again or everything is fine ?

 

prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 4

Dmitriy:

None of this matters.

First room, second room... it is all irrelevant.

 

You can share files with a client however you and the client want to. Using Upwork Messages. Or not. Email. FTP. Dropbox. Upwork doesn't care.

 

If you have an hourly contract, you are paid based on time logged. Not based on files.

 

If you have a fixed-price contract, then none of what you asked about matters. Message, rooms, etc. don't matter.

 

You click the Submit Work and Request Payment button, and you can attach complete, usable work files. Not watermarked or limited.

 

That is the only thing that matters.

 

It doesn't matter if the client responds. If the client does nothing then you get paid automatically.

prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
BEST ANSWER
3 of 4

re: "After that the client disappered for more than 10 days and I  decided to submitted work for payment without attaching files(mistakenly I thought that they were sent in the new room)."

 

You did this wrong.

You were supposed to click the Submit Work and Request Payment button IMMEDIATELY when you finished the task. Attach the files then.

 

I DO NOT ASK the client to respond or review the files first. I use the button, and that is all done automatically.

 

 

re: "What should I do now? Should I resend files in the actual chat room and resubmit work again or everything is fine ?"

 

Resend the files in a chat room. DO NOT CLICK the Submit button again. Clicking it will restart the countdown clock.

 

Do not send any messages to the client. Only resend the files.

View solution in original post

dmitriy_sl
Active Member
Dmitriy S Member Since: Jul 28, 2020
4 of 4

Thank you very much. You helped a lot. I'll pay more attention to submitting work from this time

TOP SOLUTION AUTHORS
TOP KUDOED MEMBERS