Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Really upset and need to vent!

samanthawriter7
Community Leader
Samantha L Member Since: Jan 3, 2016
1 of 27

I've been working with a client for I think a couple of months now, writing book summaries.  He has been sending me the books either by Kindle or (one occasion) through the mail.  

Everything was going really well and I was looking forward to working with the client for the longterm.  A problem has arisen, however.  He found that some of the books he next wants me to summarize are not available through Kindle in Canada.  As he does not want to spend the money to mail the physical books to me, he suggested directly transferring money through Paypal (yes, seriously!) so that I could buy the books myself.  The fact that accepting money directly through Paypal (whether for materials or not, I'd assume) would compromise my account is apparently not as important as him being able to avoid the costs of shipping.  It's nice to see how highly I am valued. Smiley Sad 

Obviously, I told the client that this is out of the question and that I am not sure I feel comfortable with continuing to work with him after this week (which I've already agreed to).  

Any thoughts or insight on this situation?  Anything at all would be appreciated.  

petra_r
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
2 of 27

The client can pay you an expense payment through Upwork.

samanthawriter7
Community Leader
3 of 27

He doesn't want to because then there would be a five-day hold and we'd be put behind schedule with the summaries. 

petra_r
Community Guru
4 of 27

@Samantha L wrote:

He doesn't want to because then there would be a five-day hold and we'd be put behind schedule with the summaries. 

Can't you buy them with your own money when the client pays? Once they paid you know it will be there in 5 days.... surely that 5 days is not an issue for the occasional cheap book?

samanthawriter7
Community Leader
5 of 27