🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Recent drop-off in invitations
Page options
jasoncsimon
Community Member

Recent drop-off in invitations

Hi folks, I figured I'd ask the crowd to see whether anyone else is experiencing this, or whether it's just a temporary fluke, as can happen from time to time.

I'm a top-rated freelancer as I have been working steadily with a few excellent clients for a while.  I have been used to seeing 4-5 new invitations come through per week, most of which I had to decline because I was too busy.  Now I have one of those occasional gaps with my current clients, I've noticed that I've seen virtually no invitations come through for the past few weeks.   Is this just a case of bad timing?   Lately I did notice that there was an increase in those "enterprise client" requests coming through from an Upwork rep, and not once did those materialize into work, but even those appear to have stopped  (the last one was a week ago..)

Nothing has changed on my profile, my rates have not changed, and I have not changed my status in any way.   I did just pick up a new client through a connect, but I almost never have to use those and now I see that we are going to have to pay for those, and I'm hoping to pick up a few more clients before that kicks in.... however almost all of my good clients have come from invites in the past.

Is this just a case of bad timing, and I should just wait for things to change, or did Upwork recently change something that will affect the way that clients pitch for jobs?

Hoping it's just a random bit of not so great luck...

4 REPLIES 4
dsmgdesign
Community Member

It says your profile is not public. Not sure if that has anything to do with it?

David S M wrote:

It says your profile is not public. Not sure if that has anything to do with it?

I have it set to "only upwork users" which is how I always had it. That shouldn't affect invites, should it?