Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Red Flags After Project has Started

Highlighted
Community Leader
K.C. D Member Since: Dec 11, 2015
1 of 13

I've been a freelancer here and previously Elance for many years now. I can usually spot a problem client but it's a lot more difficult on Upwork than it was on Elance as there is little access to a client's actual history. I've had mostly great clients, but a couple in recent years that have been impossible to please, and after starting a project with a new one this week I'm getting some major red flags, significant scope creep (on initial and 2nd milestone) and cold, almost rude very vague answers to questions that would help me provide the best results. I'm wishing I had declined the offer now, but it's too late. We set the project up in milestones, the first one was for an hour for "brainstorming" a name for her website - but there was no brainstorming, in fact, instead of providing ideas for names, the client actually wanted names that had a matching domain available which takes a lot more time. Definitely my fault for not insisting the brainstorming be clearly defined, so I did some research to come up with the best possible names that had a matching or close domain name. I again noted how difficult this can be and that it took several hours to come up with the list, although I thought there were at least a few good options. Her reply was "these are just ok." 

Now, it's time to move on to the next much bigger milestone on the project that includes 20 articles, and I'm getting a very bad feeling that this is not going to go very well. I've learned through the first milestone that the client is starting up a new website for the first time and has never done anything like this, isn't familiar with the process at all and doesn't really know what she wants. I have many other great clients and I don't want to detract from them by having to spend a lot of time trying to please an impossible client.