🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Red Flags
Page options
sarahvermette
Community Member

Red Flags

Hi there, I'm new to upwork. I was just invited for a chat and for some reason it's giving me a strange feeling. Is it a red flag if someone is payment unverified AND has done 14 interviews in the past day? I have read the threads here on how payment unverified is not a red flag on its own.

Sarah

7 REPLIES 7
prestonhunter
Community Member

I don't care about payment verified status during the interview period. Just make sure the client is payment verified before you start working.

14 interviews with no hires?

Maybe that is because he hasn't interviewed you yet.

If you were invited out of the blue for a job you didn't apply to, and you are new, then this is almost certainly a scammer. But you may as well get your first interview with a scammer over with, so you can learn from the experience.

Preston H wrote:

14 interviews with no hires?

Maybe that is because he hasn't interviewed you yet.

^ Since I am in a creative field, I usually decline anything with over 10 interviews because that either means they have no taste (it's improbable that even 10 out of 10 to 50 applications would be not only qualified, but also aesthetically a match portfolio-wise) or they are price shopping, which I don't participate in.