🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Refer a client? How? Why?
Page options
tech_bee
Community Member

Refer a client? How? Why?

Hello Everyone,
Hope everybody is safe and dong great.
I am a freelancer on Upwork with 3 projects done so far. I want to know if Upwork has a 'refer a friend' or 'invite a client' type program. I have read somewhere that if I invite my outside/direct clients to Upwork and work for them through Upwork then we can save Upwork fees. 
Can someone guide me through the step of how can I invite my client to create a buyer/employer account on Upwork and enlist detailed benefits that we both can get from this referral/invite thing.
I shall be highly thankful for a quick response.
Regards.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
AleksandarD
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Adnan,

There is no referral program available. However, you can use Direct Contracts and manage contracts in the Upwork platform with clients that don't have an Upwork account. You can check out this help article for more information.

If you are a Top Rated or Rising Talent freelancers, you can also use the Bring Your Own Client program and have a 0% fee on the contract with that client.

Thank you.

~ Aleksandar
Upwork

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
feed_my_eyes
Community Member

There are no incentives to refer clients or other freelancers to Upwork. Quite the contrary - if you don't live in America and don't want to lose money on exchange rates (since there's no option to charge anything other than U.S. dollars), then you're better off keeping your client away from Upwork.

AleksandarD
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Adnan,

There is no referral program available. However, you can use Direct Contracts and manage contracts in the Upwork platform with clients that don't have an Upwork account. You can check out this help article for more information.