🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Refund for hourly work that client doesn'...
Page options
mallory-rosten
Community Member

Refund for hourly work that client doesn't like?

Hi! I just started Upwork about a month ago. I am a graphic designer. An issue came up where the client is not happy with the most recent edits I made. I offered to redo them, but now she wants to go in a different direction with a different freelancer. She agreed to not continue to use my design (I guess I only have her word on this) and I refunded the hours that I made those changes as a courtesy. But now she also wants previous edits to be refunded, even though at the time she explicitly stated that she was happy with them. I told her I was uncomfortable  refunding those hours, and furthermore, I can't just erase hours that I worked. I worked to the best of my ability, following her specifications. I tried to explain this in nicest way possibe- I don't want her to dispute it because I entered all my hours manually (I didn't realize that manual hours were not protected- in the future I will definitely use the time tracker).

I want to know your opinions about refunding hourly work in general. Even if the client doesn't like the outcome, as long as the work was complete in good faith and to the best of my ability, isn't it wrong to refund hours? That's not how freelancing works, right? They're not really paying for the final product, they're paying for my time. Or maybe I'm wrong about this. What is your policy?

5 REPLIES 5
BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Mallory,