🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Refundable Security Deposit to *edited*?
Page options
cd399e60
Community Member

Refundable Security Deposit to *edited*?

Hi! I’m a newbie here and got my first response from a client after 4 days, but to my surprise, he’s asking for a security deposit, which is refundable though, as per the file he sent me, it is to ensure that the work will be done, but will not refund, if I don’t finish on time.

I saw a few comments of the same nature, is this legit or should I report? They introduced themselves as **edited for Community Guidelines**and when I researched the company, it is a multibillion firm, website link here **edited for Community Guidelines**

I almost agreed to it given that the rate is really good for an easy job, but too good to be true and since this is my supposedly first client, not sure if Upwork verified these clients prior sending in open positions here. Could they be fraud and just using the company, how can I verify? Thank you.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
pgiambalvo
Community Member

Total scam. Please report it.

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
pgiambalvo
Community Member

Total scam. Please report it.

Thank you Peter, will do and much appreciate your advice.

Stay safe! 😊

You too! And never communicate off of Upwork until after a contract is in place. Reading this might help you out: https://community.upwork.com/t5/New-to-Upwork/List-of-red-flags-for-scams/m-p/1017044/highlight/true...

Thank you Peter. Got it! These are really helpful insights. Thanks for sharing! I'll keep everything I learned here in mind.

Cheers!

Hi Peter,

Can you please tell me how to report because I faced the same issue by two clients they need refundable deposit and they asked to contact out of upwork 

cassajoy
Community Member

Scammers don't tell the truth about the refund part.